Nearly half a decade later, the Electric Lady releases a new studio album. 

In an effort to follow up her previous 2013 release, Janelle Monae made her return to music with her latest studio album ‘Dirty Computer.’ Much different from her earlier work, Monae gets very personal about her views on activism, being a black woman in America, and what most find surprising – her sexuality.

The album was inspired by her late mentor, Prince, who actually worked on her album and helped her come up with some sounds before his sudden passing back in 2016. The 14-track effort features appearances from Zoe Kravitz, Brian Wilson, Grimes, and Pharrell Williams. Ahead of the album’s release, she also dropped singles like “Make Me Feel,” “Django Jane,” and “PYNK.”

The album essentially was created as her reaction to her family bashing the LGBTQ community and so the purpose behind the LP was to empower people who feel bullied for being their unique selves. In addition to the album, she’s also airing a 44-minute “emotion picture” on BET to accompany the new project.

This past week, she announced that she’ll be kicking off her “Dirty Computer” 27-city tour this summer starting off in Seattle and wrapping up in Atlanta. Make sure you grab tickets while you can and stream her new album below.